2 Amp wiring questions (newbie)

qwkracer
10+ year member

i am planning on installing 2 amps in my car. the amp powering my subs is a Hinfonics BX1500D monoblock amp. The amp Powering my mids and tweeters is a Autotek Super Sport 600 watt 4 channel amp. I am very new to car audio and im a little confuse on the install.

1. do i run 2 power wires from the battery to amps? will this drain my battery faster?

2. My co-worker told me about a "distribution block." if i understood him correctly, this product allows you to use one power cable running from the battery and spliting to 2 or more smaller gauge wires at the other end right?

3. Will using a distibution block "lessen" the amount of power going to each amp?

4. Both my amp requires a 4 gauge power/ground wire. will it be OK if i run a 4 gauge power wire, use a distribution block that spilits two 8 gauge wire at the end of the block? or should i go with a 0 gauge split to 4 gauge distribuition block?

5. Are there any advantages or disadvantages for useing 0 gauge over a 4 gauge?

thanks alot

go with 1 guage from the battery to dirstro block and then 2 4 guage outputs. running 2 amps that size with only 4 guage going from the battery to the distro block and then 8 guage to the amps will be too small. on mine i ran 2 seperate wires. one 8 guage for my us acoustics and one 4 guage for my sub amp but a distro block will work fine for your setup. get a fused one 2 and put the proper fuse in each terminal going to the amp. take the combined fuse toatl and put that under the hood. always under fuse and don't over fuse though.