Kenwood Subwoofer (KFC-W3012DVC) Custom Box

Participant count
  • Participant list

Rat912
10+ year member

Hi guys im fairly new to the installation of car audio and sound systems etc, and would rather a pro install my system however, i do not want to spend a bucket load on a custom subwoofer box. I am looking for a custom box as all the prebuilt ones i have seen all sit to far into the middle of my boot, ie, over the spare tire.

I am looking to make the box myself however, i will need to know what i do and dont try and do when building it, so any help is greatly appreciated. the sub i would like to install is a Kenwood 12in Duel Voice Coil Sub (KFC-W3012DVC) and the max depth i could really have in my boot would be 10 inches. at the base. the length and height really shouldnt be much of a limitation. also, could anyone suggest what power amp i would need to run the sub.

Thanks for any comments and your time

Richard

You'll want an amplifier that does 400 - 500 watts rms @ 2 ohms.

- Wire the sub like this:

1sub2ohms-1.gif

- As for an amplifier, how about the Alpine MRP-M500?

Here's a link: NEW Alpine MRP-M500 1000W Class D Monoblock Amplifier - eBay (item 270538838574 end time Mar-29-10 19:48:40 PDT)

- The enclosure should be simple as well. Kenwood recommends 1.25 cubic feet for that particular sub (after displacement).

A box built to these dimensions should work fine.

Height: 14"

Width: 24"

Depth: 10"

Material: .75" mdf

total volume: 1.38 cubic feet

Any chance that you could recommend a kenwood amp, as i would like to stay all kenwood. also do i need to seal the box with anything, or just glue and screw in the corners, does carpet around the exterior of the box affect perfomance and how would i go about measuring (so there is still 1.38cubic feet) like an angle into the back of the box, so it sits flush with the rear seat.