Searching for something better than CDT CL-61's.

tobz
10+ year member

Independant Thinker
MN
First off, I am by no means dissappointed with these components. I thought that the imaging was amazing and it sounds great. I am looking for something that can get louder, and possibly a bit better SQ. I'll be honest, I don't have $500 to drop on components, and for $149, I think these CDT's were a steal.

However, does anyone recommend any other components that sound better than the CDT's? Preferably someone who has heard the CDT's as well as the set that they are recommending. I am kind of stuck, as I feel that for the money the CDT's can't be beat.

I prefer 1" silk, soft tweeters on my component sets by the way.

Also, not to throw another twist in the mix... But would I be better off moving to a horn/midrange setup for better SQ?

I have no experience with horns, so I would like to know people's opinions who have actually used them. Thanks.

T.J.

p.s. Oh, and if you haven't figured it out, SQ is my primary goal.

Focals Kevlars are amazing. I had some CDT CFs, and the Kevlars are definately a step up.

Other than that, I would say the only better speaker I've heard is Dynaudios, but those are $500+ a set.

Sounds interesting. Where can I find a 6.5" set of those focal kevlars? Do you have a model #? Thanks for your help.

T.J.

They have no authorized online dealers, but some places sell them. Ebay, woofersetc.com and others sell them. I would check out indoaudio on ebay or maybe contact.

In the general section, someone posted about PureCarAudio.com and they seem to sell focal. I would contact them.

http://purecaraudio.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=267

165ks are the kevlars.