Subsonic Filter??

turtlestrap

Oregon
Hi, Im still a novice at car audio and wanted some help. I built a transmission line box for an HDS208 8" woofer.

I did some researching and found some information about setting subsonic filters. For ported boxes, I read, you should set the subsonic at half an octave below tuning frequency of the box.

I also read some information about transmission lines that said they are supposed to have great bandwidth and efficiency such that the output of the box, a whole octave below the tuning frequency, will be just as powerful as the tuning frequency in a lot of cases.

That said, should I be worrying about a subsonic filter? The amplifier I'm planning to get does not have one. I want to get a Rockford Fosgate R500x1D. Amazon Link

Any input would be much appreciated //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

would you be opposed to looking at a different amp in that price range, there would be lots of choices that would have a subsonic filter.
x2 just as an examplehttp://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/p_20681_Soundstream_REF1500.aspx I had the 1.1000 and it sounded really good you would need to come up with $25 more well worth it to protect your sub.

x2 just as an examplehttp://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/p_20681_Soundstream_REF1500.aspx I had the 1.1000 and it sounded really good you would need to come up with $25 more well worth it to protect your sub.
Why is it rated 500 @ 2 and also 500 @ 1? Im not very well rounded about amplifiers but isn't the rating @ 1 ohm supposed to be higher?

Why is it rated 500 @ 2 and also 500 @ 1? Im not very well rounded about amplifiers but isn't the rating @ 1 ohm supposed to be higher?
its one of the features of this line makes same power 1 or 2 ohms for flexibility nice if you end up adding or changing subs.

That RF has a filter.
Not a Subsonic filter. Has a low pass filter

r500x1d.jpg