When running 2 subs does RMS handling DOUBLE? =SUB HELP=

Participant count
  • Participant list

spracer03
10+ year member

CA
i need you audio experts opinions on my sub configuration, here are my 2 options right now...

running two alpine type R 12" 2ohm DVC subs into a 2ohm load into my alpine mrp-m500(500 RMS @ 2ohms)... my question is if the subs will handle 200-500 rms each will i be ok, or will i be in danger of damaging my subs from underpowering?

OR...

would it be better to get some JL audio 12w0-4's(from a friend) which JL says are 125RMS and run them into the M500 @ a 4ohm load(at which the amp will produce 300RMS)???...

cost wise the JL's would be wayyy cheaper... what do you guys think? im kinda new to the audio performance side of a car... ive always been into the go-fast side:cool:

No such thing as underpowering. That's just a gimick from shop owners to try to sell you ish that you don't need. The same thing happens when you turn down the volume on your HU. The mechanics is that the processor sends out a weaker level signal to the amps, which processes that and sends out less volts... so, "underpowering" = turning the volume down...

As far as the subs...

The Type ARRRGHHHS will be a lot louder, and maybe even sound better. Not really familiar with the wo's, but they're mad old. I'd buy them just to have them, but I don't think I'd use them over the ARRRGHHH.

EDIT:: I actually remember my Dad's helper telling me he had 3 w0's, and they wanged. So, yeah. Not sure what his definition of 'wanged' is. But, I know a lot of members on this forum run Type ARRRGHHHS.