choice between a few sub-$115 amps to power a nice 10

senaudio
10+ year member

Hello everyone!

I am new to the forums, but there seems to be a lot of good info here.

I need to power a Powerbass ES 10DS in a custom built, smallish sealed box

its a 2 ohm DVC, and i have it wired in series, so 4 ohm impedance, but could wire it parallel for 1 ohm if necessary, 500W RMS/1000W Peak power handling

Nowadays, I only have the one sub in my car, (used to have 10 years ago two 12" L7's with a good 1500W RMS Hifonics amp), and really have it so that that I can hear the bass guitar in rock songs and listen to some rap the way it is supposed to be listened to from time to time.

I am a poor graduate student, and unexpectedly replacing a 4 year old POS amp that worked ok for a while, and consequently, only have about $100-115 max to spend.

I am skittish about buying used amplifiers, and so have limited my search to new

I want to push it at between 300-500 watts if possible

I found 2 amps that are within the price range, and push that amount, and are brands i have heard of and/or that have some credibility (i.e. no boss, pyle, pyramid, lanzar, etc.)

Crunch GPV1000.2 $70

500Wx1@4ohms RMS/1000W peak

Hifonics Hfi100.2 $90

400Wx1@4ohms RMS/800W peak (so 340x1 then)

according to maxxsonics tech support crunch rms is 1/2 of Max power, and the hfi line (the only non-CEA rated Hifonics line) is listed as rms on the hifonics pages, but overrated by 18%

any suggestions/advice would be appreciated. THANKS!

thanks for the feedback, it is really helpful. I have 3 more quick questions

1. is audiopipe similar quality to soundstream, sony, and kenwood, as I have found a soundtream trx2.440 for $80 (440@4ohms), a kenwood KAC-7205 for 120 (500@4ohms), and a soundstream stl2.560 and a sony xm gtr-2202 for about 135 (540/560@4ohms).

2. is there an easy way to not worry about my sub being blown if i run either the audiopipe (640 RMS @ 4ohms) or the hifonics (600 RMS @ 1 ohm)