Help! I'm overwhelmed! (And I'm a newb!)

Hey all,

I've read and read and read and I'm still having trouble making sense of ohms, R.M.S., impedance, watts, and blah, blah, blah... I bought some Kicker 07CVR124 subs (qty 2) new for $100.00. I couldn't pass it up. I also scored a new Rockford Fosgate P700-1BD 700 watt amplifier for $225.00. I drive a 2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 pickup and my car stereo is a Sony CDX-GT520 and this has become way more involved than I ever imagined. Questions...

1.) Is this a good (or even a decent) match between my amp and my subs?

2.) Will the stock alternator be adequate enough to power this amp/subs combo?

3.) Do I need to replace/upgrade the ground strap wiring on my vehicle?

4.) Wiring this up -- Recommendations? Parallel? Series? Bridged?

At this point I plan on having this equipment professionally installed, but i'd like to have some idea as to what to tell them in how I'd like this installed. I want to assume that the person installing my gear knows what he's doing, but.... yeah, it never hurts to be informed. Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

- Dodds in San Antonio, TX

PS - I'm looking for some good speakers for my doors. 6 1/2" front door speakers and 4" rear door speakers. I'm also looking to have some tweeters installed (that are not currently part of my system). Thanks again.

Please? I'm handy enough -- I just don't quite grasp all of the electrical spec mumbo jumbo... Any help is greatly appreciated.
- Dodds
Dont worry i was just like you last year and started with the same stuff. just a little different brands. Let me do some research on your stuff and ill post again.

What box do you have for your truck?

All those numbers are marketing gimmicks...in the real world they mean little.

Let me start off by asking you a question; what does a watt sound like? Even trickier; what does an ohm sound like?