Hey , SQueer face...

sqhertz
5,000+ posts

CarAudio.com Veteran
Miami ,Fl
as suggested by another member , heres another SQ related thread.

i can hook up speakers , amps and head units no problem, but there is obviously more to a great sounding system than that. speaker placement , EQing , T/A'ing with Shakira , etc. but i am a complete noob (not the james bang noob type) when it comes to this stuff. i am determined on getting a great sounding system in my next vehicle and want to learn about as much as i can now , so i dont run into common mistakes (if there is any) when the time comes to install.

where do you start first? what is your order of operation?

component selection? why would i want to go with raw drivers and an active HU instead of 2/3 way components with a passive crossover? arnt they supposed to be optimized for those specific speakers? is there certain things to look for in raw drivers? is the frequency response spec. all that is needed?

speaker placement? how do you determine when to put tweeters on or off axis? up on the pillars or in the kicks? i would imagine this will have to play a huge role in imaging.

trial and error? lots of double sided tape? clues in the oh-so-confusing parameters?

EQing? starting with everything flat , do you work up from the lower freq's or down from the higher? when you have a peak , do you tone it down , or raise everything else to 'blend' (dumb question but i thought id ask)? i know the goal is for the music to sound natural , but music natrually has peaks. how do you figure when you have too many or too little?

i have no idea about time alignment , but shakira's tits and ass are getting my attention in mr. bangs T/A thread. this may need another thread for discussion , or links to previous threads since i know they can go on forever on this topic.

i know i will have plenty more to ask , but this is all i can think of.