need help with car speakers

massoudjeff
10+ year member

hi everyone i'm new here and would really appreciate some help from anyone. so my problem is that i have two different head units in my 95 civic, i have an unknown model name in dash dvdplayer that stopped playing sound from my speakers two days ago, so earlier tonight i checked all the connections and everything seems fine. my door speakers stopped working but i could still hear my subs bumping, so earlier tonight i changed my dvd player to a dual deck that i have in my fiances car, i put it in connected all the wires and it worked for maybe one minute and then i turned the volume up a little bit and once again all the speakers stopped working but the subs continued. anybody have any ideas on why this would happen. thanks in advance

yea i installed everything myself, i've been a honda certified mechanic for the last 7 years and i only have an amp for the subwoofers, the door and rear deck speakers all go directly off of the head unit. i installed an aftermarket wiring harness for the dvd player and dual radio, both are put into the car one at a time not at the same time i know my original post made it seem like i had two radios in my car at once, but the thing that is bothering me the most is that everything was working perfectly fine for almost 6 months and then two nights ago my fiance put her ipod on my aux cable and turned up the dvd player to 15 which is 1/4 of the maximum volume and all four speakers cut out and only the subs could be heard. i dont know what could cause this i've never experienced anything like this in all my years of working on cars and fixing them.

If we're talking about a 95 civic, I'd check the speaker wire runs throughout the car for deterioration. Also, may just be time to replace the speakers. I'm thinking they got clipped too heavily a couple times and now can't really take any kind of power