Which amp for DD subwoofers?

Participant count
  • Participant list

MarkAm

Hello there guys. I am a total newb when it comes to building a system. But I'm giving it a shot. I have a 2006 Chevy Silverado extended cab. So far I have installed a Kenwood KDC X997 head unit, Focal integration 6.5" components in front doors, Polk 4x6's in rear doors, and two Polk 8" subs in a prefab box under rear seat. The Focals are powered by an Arc Audio KS300.4 amp. The Polks in the rear door are powered by the head unit. The (outdated) subs are powered by a (outdated) Phoenix Gold Octane R-4.0.2. I want to replace the subs and box. I was considering going with either 2 or 4 of the DD shallow 8" subs in a ported box that i can have made in a local shop. I haven't decided on an amp to power them yet. Any input on a compatible amp? And is 4 subs overkill or will two 8's be enough? I'm looking for SQ over SL. I listen to everything across the board but mostly hard rock. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Go with the 4. 8s. If the box is done right you'll love them. I did but wasn't enough boom for me as far as amp. It depends on the power handling

2-8's can sound very nice under that seat.

If you want to go w/ 4-8's or 2-10's, do a 3" seat lift. It will give you ALOT more space for the box.

4 DD508's on an M1c would be a great match.

Thanks for your input guys. Will i have to lift the seat 3" if i go with 4 8" subs? I was told that DD makes a shallow sub that comes in 8". I think that would allow me to put four of them in a custom made ported box under the rear seat without lifting it.

Ok. Thanks alot. I appreciate the help. I'm going to take a look at the M1c that Canaan mentioned. Any other suggestions in regards to an amp that will power these subs?