New audio setup has a BUZZ

Corsair714

CarAudio.com Newbie
I am relatively new to car audio and was originally quite excited, however, it has been a nightmare trying to figure out why my cars new audio system has a buzz. I have good grounds as far as I know, and I am getting a buzz in my speakers that changes when I turn up the volume even when nothing is playing. The noise stays the same when the engine is running or off and does not change from idle to driving. I am trying to figure out if something is faulty somewhere or is noise being added some other way? I'd appreciate any advice on how to diagnose the problem. I have watched a lot of youtube and still can not figure it out.

Things I have tried:
  • I have redone the grounds making sure both the amp and the head unit have solid connections as well as redoing the ground from the battery to the frame of the car.
  • I used a phone to rca adapter to test if the noise is cause by the cables, head unit, or amp. I found that there was a very small amount of noise still present however it was much better and the cables did not appear to be adding noise to the system. It would seem that the head unit might be the main problem and the amp also has a little noise?
  • I have made sure to run the power and RCAs down opposite sides of the vehicle.
  • The amp is isolated from the vehicle however is it close to the speakers(not sure if that matters).
  • I also had two other used faulty amps that had the same noise issue but they also had other issues that caused me to buy a new amp. This leads me to believe that the noise is starting before the amp(most likely the head unit, but will buying a new head unit even solve the problem?)

Last edited:

Take a look at this thread. The image of the rca cables with wire wrapping around them is one of my first fixes for a noisy head unit.

Take a look at this thread. The image of the rca cables with wire wrapping around them is one of my first fixes for a noisy head unit.