the right amp and subs

mil-spec

ohio
I am kinda new to most of the new electronics. I havent messed with any of this for almost 20 years. I'm trying to get a decent setup for my boys truck. It's a 98 expedition and so far i have a 2 channel 500 wt rms amp at 2 ohms. Was planning on running two of the jl w3 and then i have a rockford punch p4004 to run the 3x5 alpine door speakers. I haven't had this installed yet,,,i just wanted to get some thought from those of you that do this kind of stuff all the time. He doesn't need to have the best in the county but i do want it to sound decent. Oh and i did get a new dash unit. Its a pioneer with 7" screen all touch screen,bluetooth, all that jazz. He knows more about it than i do. With this am i missing anything or are there recommendations? I would appreciate any help with this. I know the guy at the audio place just tends to pont me in the direction of the more expensive electronics. I don't want to spend the exta $ for w7's. I just want it to be clean. Thanks

^^^This

Also what kind of amp is it? It would be helpful to have the specs on it. You might be better off running one sub, like a 15" on that amp bridged at 4 ohm. You'd be surprised how much output you can get with one 15" and a custom ported box. Being an Expedition it doesn't sound like space is going to be an issue.

JL is good stuff but in the car audio world today, there is much more available that will perform just as well for a fraction of the cost. Look at Sundown Audio, DC Sound Labs, C2 Audio, Tantric Sounds, et al. I would hop onto the classifieds section of this site, lots of good gear and from what I can tell, most of the sellers here are genuine and honest people. I've bought a few things here and they were exactly as advertised.