Quick Car Battery question

Participant count
  • Participant list

kdc_619
10+ year member

I'm going to be upgrading to 2 FI SSD 12s as soon as they're shipped to me. Not wanting to put the stress of the 2000 watt hifonics amp I'm going to order to run them on my stock car battery, I'm looking to upgrade. I'm looking at this XS Power D3400 and The Kinetik 1800. The XS Power battery has 1000 cranking amps while the Kinetik has 1900... I live in Texas now and this winter it got pretty cold so I want to make sure the battery I get will start my car no problems. Can anyone explain the cranking amps difference to a noob here? Ive never had to replace the battery under the hood, I've only added a battery in the trunk. The price difference is about 100$ with the Xs being more expensive despite having less cranking amps so that's why I'm asking.

Ok what kind of vehicle?? As far as cranking amps go anything over 800 is plenty to start a car or truck.. If you have a diesel truck you need more.

I always add a batt if possible. Put a good starting batt under the hood and add an xs or kenitic to the trunk and your done.

But to tell you for sure how many cranking amps you will need we need to know what vehicle

Ive been running Orileys Super Start Extreme AGM batts that have a 3yr free replacement,and prorated after that for $143 without a core..Excellent power and cranking voltage during the last two winters.Group 78 I believe

Ok what kind of vehicle?? As far as cranking amps go anything over 800 is plenty to start a car or truck.. If you have a diesel truck you need more.
I always add a batt if possible. Put a good starting batt under the hood and add an xs or kenitic to the trunk and your done.

But to tell you for sure how many cranking amps you will need we need to know what vehicle
It's a 2004 mustang gt. I was thinking of running a smaller Xs power in the trunk for my 4 channel amp and the larger Xs or Kinetik under the hood for the large 2000 watt amp