rookie mistakes...arced my amp...Please help!!!

Tonytone310

This is my very first time installing a stereo and dont know much about electrical.so I recently upgraded my stereo system, changing the head unit, and adding an amplifier and subwoofer.the previous owner had an out of factory stereo already installed, so what I did was switch the old HU with a pioneer DEH-X4800BT. I had to change the power cord input which was easy and left the speakers Already installed alone. The amp is a pioneer GM-D8601(1600max watt output). I connected the amp to the battery with 4GA power wire and grounded it to metal of the bench in my van. (Connection is good). The amp is connected to the a 12in kicker (1000watt max). I installed it perfect(I think)and the system was working fine for about 4hours before i had disconnected to mount the amp and sub to board. WHAT I FORGOT TO DO WAS DISCONNECT IT FROM THE CAR BATTERY!!!! It wasnt until I accidentally arced it amp when the hot wire touched the metal frame of the amp...twice(dummy I know).rite away I disconnected the terminals from the battery and proceeded. When it was all set back up I started the car and about 7 seconds into a song the hear unit completely turns off and restarted. It continued to happen whenever the volume is up and the sub kicks bass. I did an inspection, tightened the (then loose) terminals and hot lines, and I can get now get the stereo to bump pretty loud with the bass kicking hard for quit sometime, but occasionally it will power off and restart again. What the heck did I do?? Did I mess up the amp, or possibly the car electrical?? The gains on the amp match the output from the stereo and no fuses blown, and the sub is working fine.... I'm just freaking out a bit and need some advice.... thanks