I don't know if I need a high output alternator or not

Jacob P

CarAudio.com Newbie
Nj
To start off I'm new to this and can't pinpoint what is going on, so I have a 2007 Honda Accord EX-L i4. I recently had a shop install my skar 12" sub with an 800w skar amp (I will also be adding front door speakers and rear deck speakers soon). I'm having an issue where when I play my radio up to a certain volume the two interior dome lights start to ever so slightly dim with the music when there's a lot of bass. I'm trying to figure out if it's because I didn't install a big 3 kit, if my stock alt is not enough, or both. I cannot seem to find a big 3 kit that is 100% OFC with ring terminals small enough to fit on the stock alternator power wire connection because of this plastic piece that goes around where the power wire for the alternator goes, the only real kit I could find I don't know if the 4 gauge wire is enough or not compared to using the 1/0 wire. If it's the alternator I have no idea what brand to get and exactly how to know what amp rating i need for my system. Any help with this is greatly appreciated, I've been more than stumped with this and can't figure out what to do.

Also could be the way Honda's alternators work. There is a circuit (can't remember the name) that detects electrical power consumption at the fuse block. So when your headlights or HVAC are running, the car knows and increases alternator output. Since you amp is wired directly to the battery and isn't part of the fuse block, the reduces alternator output to improve mileage - I know it's weird.

I'd definitely do the big 3 to eliminate that as a cause. I'm not sure how guys work around this issue when running higher powered systems, but I do know there are some work arounds. Good luck.