To sound deaden or to not sound deaden?

Participant count
  • Participant list

DARBADARBZ

CarAudio.com Newbie
Idaho
My car from factory came with 0 sound deadening material, no fabric or anything in the doors.

I have Rockford Fosgate R1675X2 in the back, Rockford Fosgate R169X and Kicker H631SFJ101 in the front. I also have a sealed Skar SVR-10 D2 down firing in the back.

I was thinking of sound deadening the floors and back of the cab. What about the roof? What kind of sound deadening material, AmazonBasics, Killmat, Noico? What thickness or does it matter?

And my other question was, I've heard that people have put in sound deadening and it made their audio sound really bad, throwing frequencies off and reducing bass. I included a picture to show my vehicle so I'd love to hear opinions, and will my sub sound better if the floor underneath was sound deadened?

I'm a super noob so any responses I'd love.

sounddeaden - Copy.jpg

Last edited:
I consider acoustical vehicle treatments to be as important as any other audio component in the system. For me, it is the majority of the work I do on an install. You can see what I do for treatments in my build logs.

I have moved to Resonix products, and Nick has a lot of great information on the usage. Check out his Resources page: https://resonixsoundsolutions.com/

Treating vehicles does not make the sound system worse. Systems with a myriad of problems, or systems that are poorly designed, will chase issues and I have seen some blame their issues on deadener - but it's a misplaced claim.

I've never heard a legit complaint about deadening hurting sound quality...I've heard people blame deadening for not fixing everything wrong with a system though 😂